How did you find your apartment/house?

I am currently in a struggle to find an off-campus property to rent. It is my first time doing this and I am not certain about the procedure. Just looking at pics listed in Zillow and that's pretty much it. Did you sign the lease before traveling or after? How can I get a place from day 1 of arrival? Will I have to stay in a hotel for the first couple of days? Please share your experience in this area. I am moving to Ohio, btw, and don't forget to leave your recommendations for websites and listings.

For my Masters, I moved from Western Canada to Eastern Canada. My wife (then girlfriend) visited our new town for a few days and stayed at a hotel while we viewed about a dozen apartments and signed a lease on the one we liked. We used airline points for the flight so the total cost of that trip was on the order of 1 months rent at the new city.

For my PhD, we moved from Eastern Canada to Southern California. My wife and I visited our new town about 1 month prior to our move date and stayed at our friends' place for a week while we looked for apartments. The cost for the trip would have been on the order of 1 months rent in California too but due to the airline screwing up our flights and delaying us at an airport for 8 hours, they reimbursed 400% of our flight's value so we ended up with an almost free trip. 

We did a ton of research prior to the trip so that we basically were booking 3-4 apartment viewings per day. We booked the first few days before we left and continued to search in the evenings while we were there. Honestly, we were really glad we spent the money and time doing so because in both cases, the most promising properties online prior to our trip turned out to be really crappy and we were glad we didn't just sign the lease without seeing it. In fact, I would never recommend signing a lease without seeing a place unless you really have no other options.