Fall 2010?

modernity

• 2 weeks later...

I am still narrowing down universities. I'm studying something I guess is a little obscure - ie not SE Asian, or African related..so I think it might be a little harder for me to find the perfect fit. I have taken the GRE but I was sick and bombed it, so I'll be retaking it next month (with lots of flash cards and studying in between). Do you know where you're applying yet?

Good luck to both of you!

Let me know if I can help, I am not a mod or anything, but went through the pain off applying last year and I applied earlier than most. So this board helped a bunch, but some stuff I learned after the fact. If there is anything I can do just post, I'll be checking back!

Hey, fellow travelers,

I thought I'd chime in, too: it's nice to see some activity on the board, after a quiet summer. I am also applying this fall, and just got my GRE scores back tonight: my writing was a little lower than I would have liked, but the others were fine. I'm interested in the contemporary U.S., possibly with an anthro of science and technology slant.

Right now, the six schools that I'm looking at most seriously are Yale, Brown, Michigan, Chicago, Texas, and Minnesota. Looking forward to having some of you to keep me company as this whole process unfolds!

I'm definitely applying for Fall 2010. I've written my SOP and starting to do some revisions. I hope to have it done by the end of this week so that I can start studying a bit for the GRE. I'm not too happy about my score from last year, everything was okay except for my verbal score which should have been between 60 - 100 points higher. If I do retake my GRE, I need to be certain that I can get at least 200 points higher in total than my original score. I have a list of schools, but I'm trying to narrow it down a bit and identify others I've overlooked. I wish everyone applying the best of luck and hope you guys get into your top choices.

Hi Everyone,