Seeking Advice: Should I Bother Applying?

jjb919

Hey everyone,

After frequenting this forum for about a year now; it's a really positive community filled with many intelligent and level-headed people, and I have come to value your insights and opinions. I was wondering if anyone wanted to give their two cents regarding my situation.

As some of you may know, I graduated with an MA in philosophy from The New School a couple of years ago. I am currently working at a non-profit in higher education (which I very much enjoy) and am preparing applications to PhD programs next fall. But I am wondering if I should abandon the pursuit before getting any deeper in, and the answer, I think, hinges on what value I find in the PhD.

I am not in this solely to get an academic job. Although a TT job is a pipe dream (and I would do everything I could to prepare myself to be competitive in the academic job market should I enroll in a PhD program), I know that even if I am admitted to a top program and 'tick all the right boxes' the sheer numbers say that I will not get such a position. I have several plan B's in mind if an academic job doesn't pan out.

(As a side note, I will mention that there is some instrumental value to getting a PhD in my case: if I wanted to continue down the higher-education non-profit path, I would need a PhD to get any position higher than the entry level position I currently occupy. Granted, this is a small niche, and getting a PhD for the sake of career advancement in my sector is certainly not worthwhile. But that is not the main reason I want to get a PhD.)