OMG I'm so confused.

bbdd2

Hi guys.

This is a very sticky situation.

So I need help.

Ps I'm an international student and both are fully funded with similar stipends.

School A

Lovely faculty, small department, great program, friendly, well organized.

Cons

It's located in a small town. As much as I've heard lovely things about the town I'm a big city kid at heart. Although it's an hour from Memphis.

2.It's an MS degree although almost every student ends up getting a PhD there. It's a sort of seamless transition. But still one still has to get a thesis. So yes it's a master's nonetheless even though I know I'll get a PhD there in another 2 years after the MS.

Sticky :

I've actually sent a letter of acceptance signed by me and dispatched to the school. I've received my i20 and everything is in order for attendance.

School B

Located in Memphis

Great program.

PhD.

Big city: Means a lot to me

Sticky :

Decision came pretty late, today as a matter of fact. Was unofficially notified of admission in February, Mailed the chair to ask for status in March and got a rather lukewarm response and got discouraged about my status afterwards. Right after I've already accepted an offer from school A and I have my i20 ready from school A I get an offer from this school.

I'm trying to ask if anyone would pick grad school for location purposes only. (school A is an hour 30 mind away from school B) Is it a huge factor?

Both are sound academically.

Institutionally wise, school B has more name recognition.

I'm so confused.

Would it be irresponsible to rescind a letter of acceptance even after I've been mailed my i20??

Am I stupid for trying to actually consider school B?

Edited by bbdd2

If you change, do it before April 15. I think it's worth investigating because you seem to like option 2 more and it has more name recognition.

Edited by jenste