Is grad school right for an actor/dramaturg?

jmills62

I'll be a senior musical theatre major this fall. I've been doing some reading & fallen in love w/ the idea of dramaturgy- especailly since I already work at a library as a research assistant.

My goal is to actually be employed as a dramaturg (well, assistant/intern somewhere, that's not a position you get right after graduation, I'm sure) and be able to audition/take masterclasses when I can and also rub elbows with people in the theatre on a regional level, maybe even continue to train as an actor and have them see me as a useful dramaturg and employable actor. Because I love writing (not plays, like papers reviews etc), play analysis, reading (literature and plays) and my library position and would love to do that for a theatre but I love performing just as much, if not slightly more. I've done it since I was 7, it's what my degree is in. First, I am an actor.

I know there are intern/apprentice programs out there such as Seattle Repertory Theatre that employ/train actors post-grad but I really want to either get my 2nd bachelor's degree or graduate degree in english/dramatic literature or dramaturgy... I feel as though english/dramatic lit will open more doors for me though and make me more well-rounded for the position versus strictly dramaturgy.... Am I thinking properly here?

Also, a lot of univesities that I've come across for english and dramatic lit are in the UK... I'm elated because I would love nothing more than to live & study abroad. My undergraduate program didn't allow that sort of flexibility.

A friend of mine described the concentration of a graduate degree in english & I'm fairly sure I don't want to be that concentrated, I want to learn it all & be well-versed in material... I think I'm rambling now, but does anyone have any advice for this?

• 2 weeks later...