Signature for TA

jammiedodger6873

I just started a TA position this year and I'm trying to figure out the best way to create an email signature.  I'm a graduate assistant with teaching duties.   Would it be best to put something like:

Jane Doe
Teaching Assistant
Dept, Office
Email

or

Jane Doe
Graduate Teaching Assistant
Dept, Office
Email

Any thoughts? How do you usually go about doing these things? 

Why would you put your email in a signature? Are you sending to a lot of listservs where your address would not be on the email?

My signature is:

Name (Hyperlinked to my Academia.edu page, which has all my contact details)

PhD Student, History Dept, University

Managing editor, Project (hyperlinked to project)

Edited by telkanuru

My signature is crazy long, but that's also because my office hours are in it. When I was a TA, I never listed office hours in my email. In general though, I take my cues on what signature is appropriate from what others are doing. So if other TAs use "Graduate Teaching Assistant" as the title, then you should do that too.

Here's what I probably had.

Name

PhD student, Teaching Assistant DEPT 1111

Department Name

Office Location | Phone Number (but only if your office has one)

Firstly, I am assuming you are also a graduate student right? And that your TA work is how you are funded? Usually my advice is that we want to emphasize ourselves as scholars and researchers, not (just) TAs. So I would actually advise you to leave the TA part out and replace it with "PhD Student", "MA Student", "PhD Candidate" or whatever title best describes you!

Personally, I advocate strongly for context-specific signatures! I would only include my TA role/position when I am writing an email where I think it's important to clarify my role. For example, if I was a TA for a class with hundreds of students, multiple TAs and maybe even multiple faculty members, I might write it as

Name
Phys 101 TA, Section B
Office, Office Hours M 4pm-5pm