Applied Physics - Fall 2007?

Nice, Othello. I've seen your stats before on this forum. Don't you already have some realllllly good admits? Congratz~

I bet there is a good chance that you would be one of the first ones to hear back from Harvard and Columbia. Now I know that I have a reliable source on when they actually send out the results. just let me know whenever you hear from them! ill do the same.

I'm also interested in materials! (in nanofabrication side)

I'm from an Ivy applied physics program with GPA of 3.8...I've done 2 years of undergraduate research (couldn't do any REU's because I was an international student). My GRE score is 800Q/540V/4.5W (i don't think GRE scores matter that much anyway)

Hopefully I hear some good news.

One of my recommendations is actually coming from the applied physics department at Columbia, so I'll be quite surprised if I don't get positive news from them soon!

I've been accepted at Berkeley, Michigan and Princeton so far. Caltech is paying for me to fly out later this week, and I hear basically everyone invited to visit gets accepted soon after. I'm also wait-listed at Northwestern...meh.

Did you apply to any other schools? If so, have you heard anything from them? I have yet to hear from Columbia, Harvard, MIT, and Stanford.

Good luck, you have a great profile.

Othello,

I am going to Caltech this week too (for applied physics). Where did hear that this means we will get accepted later? If this is true, it's really good news! I also applied to Stanford and Cornell for applied physics. No news from either yet...

I'll be at Caltech for materials science. I've always wanted to visit the campus, so I'm pretty excited. I heard on another forum that Caltech usually accepts everyone they fly out. Of course this isn't a very reliable source, but they are only flying 17 of us out. That sounds like the right amount to accept given the fact that only about half will take their offer.