Getting a Master's while married

bookworm1

Hi folks,

Anyone have words of wisdom for getting a Master's degree while married? I am hoping to get my MA in International Education and my top school is across the country. We're waiting to see if I get in there before thinking more in depth about the next steps. Not sure if we will both move or just me (1.5 year program) because my husband is about to qualify for more benefits at work and will probably have to start from the bottom at a new job if he moves. 

We were together during undergrad but this is quite different. Any advice would be much appreciated! Thanks!

Well, I got half of my masters while married (we got married just after the spring semester of the first year ended), and I am now working on my PhD while married. Honestly, it wasn't really any different than when we were dating/engaged when I was an undergrad, except that we started living together. However, my masters program was within driving distance, not across the country. Sometimes he got a bit frustrated with me being away at school all day and into the evening four days a week (sometimes more), but he appreciated that I spent most Saturdays and Sundays with him, when we both had the whole day off. He also appreciated my crock pot meals that I made on days I wasn't home at dinner time!