2016 Business PhD Applicant Chat Thread

Hey all,

I know we're few and far between, but I wanted a place for Business PhD hopefuls to chat about the process before applications are due in Dec/Jan. 

I'm applying to Management and Organizational Behavior programs at about 10 schools. I'm currently an I/O Psych M.S. student. Looking forward to hearing from you all and commiserating with you. 

• 1 month later...

I'm not sure if this is the correct thread to put this on (sorry I am new to the site), but I was hoping to get a little feedback from anyone who might have insight. I am looking into MBA programs but my GPA is low (2.8). My degree is in biochemistry from a well known liberal arts college and I have since spend 2 years doing full time pre-clinical research. I thought I wanted to do a PhD and pursue a career in academia but my most recent fellowship highlighted how few jobs there are right now and how long of a road to get there. My GRE is 163(Q), 157(V), 6(AW). I also have two years experience as an administrative assistant to the vice president of finance and planning at my college.

Though it is a bit personal it might also be useful to know that my GPA is low due to the onset of a big health issue the summer before college (progressive disorder) that lead to significant disability and the only medication option lead to cognitive deficits. I went off all medications a third of the way through my senior year and as a result my GPA that final semester was MUCH better. If had gone off the medication earlier I would've had an upward trend but I wasn't able to. Currently my health is greatly improved and no awful medication. Further validation of this issue and its cause comes from the first GRE score I received (while taking the medication) which was 150(V), 150(Q), 3.0(AW); so I more than doubled my quant and writing percentile ranking. 

Thank you for any input!! :]]

• 1 month later...