Not sure if I should leave

anon555

I am in my first semester of a PhD program (just out of undergrad) and am really miserable.  The school is perfect for my interests (really the best program there is for it) but the location really is not.  I moved across the country away from my family and partner and am really struggling with the distance.  On top of that, I have an anxiety disorder which has made things very hard.

I'm really unsure of what to do.  I wish I had chosen a program significantly closer to home that I was accepted into. I feel stuck now that that opportunity is gone (there are only several programs in the country offering PhDs in my field).  I'm almost 100% sure I want to continue being in academia (especially because I'm doing really well in classes in spite of everything).  But at the same time, I can't keep living everyday as sad and anxious as I am because of where I am living.  I've talked to my advisor and the director of my fellowship about taking a medical leave, and that's a possibility.  But even then I don't know if I could come back to the same situation.

Has anyone else ever gone through this?  Any advice on what I should do?  

It doesn't sound like you are miserable because you hate your program or because it was a bad fit for you; it sounds like you are homesick and miss your family and partner. Being homesick is normal in the beginning. The question is, do you think it will get better soon and can you get through 5-7 years being far away (or however long it will be until they can join you)?