Should I broach the issue of a low GPA with a potential advisor?

Bos taurus

Question

Some background: I am a 4th year Zoology undergraduate, applying for a Masters with a focus in Dairy Cattle Nutrition at UC Davis. My current GPA is a 3.08. I know it isn't ideal, and may negatively impact grad school admissions. I worked 2-3 jobs at a time all through undergrad, and at times that may have cut into my classwork, but I feel that I learned a lot through my work experiences, and they were worth the time invested.

I have been speaking with a professor at UC Davis regarding the possibility of joining his group in the fall; he is accepting students, and he gave me some current and graduated student contacts. I was told to follow up with them, get a sense for what the group is like, and if I'm still interested, we can discuss coming out for a visit. 

I am very interested in that particular group, but my academic coursework and performance has not come up in emailing him, and I'm uncertain if my low GPA is an issue I should raise before visiting. If so, how do I address it in a way that isn't awkward? "I'm interested in your group, and would like to come out for a visit...but you should know my GPA is lower than I would like". Any advice would be appreciated.

8 answers to this question

I wouldn't bring it up. There's nothing you can say that won't sound like you're just making excuses for yourself. If the prof really wants you, they may fight for you in spite of your GPA. See also the thread here from the folks with sub-3.0 GPAs, which has helpful advice about navigating grad school admissions with a lower undergrad GPA.