I'm completely devastated tonight. I know it is stupid but I applied to only one program this year. I selected the one I loved and put all my energy into it. I was in no position to do otherwise--I'm a school teacher and I could not move. I'm helping my son get through university and I can't move. The other programs in the area simply do not offer what I am looking for. 

Anyway, I applied. I put my brain, my heart and my soul into it. I have watched the boards and have seen that there was a recruitment weekend that I was not invited to; acceptance letters have been sent out and those who are fortunate enough to do so are making their decisions. I'm not among them. 

I have a weird background. I dropped out of high school, raised a child as a single parent, and worked hard through welfare reform to go to night school for my BA. I completed at the top of my class and went on to get a MA. Again, I graduated at the top of my class with a 4.0. I am a published author of creative non-fiction and of a textbook chapter for the American Counseling Association's book on social justice counseling practices. I have provided several teacher education professional learning seminars. I have been an educator in some of the poorest, most difficult schools for five years. I have great recommendations and nothing but exceptional evaluations...Yadah, yadah...I have my shit together. 

Anyway, here I am, 38, and I have weathered the storm. I didn't make the cut and I am struggling with these long-held insecurities that I am not good enough. I work at one of the hardest, most violent schools in the country and I dread returning next year. I had so hoped that I was good enough and could move on. I believe that my wierdo experience would make me an asset to a grad program. Apparently the admissions committee didn't agree.