Yale (MA East Asian Studies) or Chicago (MAPSS)?

dreambabydream

Question

Hi everyone,

I'm an international student (UK) at Oxford, I've just been accepted onto the two programmes I applied for, EAS at Yale and MAPSS at Chicago.

I've only been to Chicago briefly, it seemed really cool, but from what I've seen it seems like the course is better at Yale.

The only problem is I've been offered a 2k scholarship from Yale vs. a 40k scholarship from Chicago. I'm really praying they will offer me more funding at Yale, although my course director says this is unlikely (maybe because I'm an international student?).

Does anyone have any thoughts about the two campuses? Chicago seems like it has more going on, but I might be wrong?

Any advice greatly appreciated!

Best Regards,

Alex

7 answers to this question

They are both really great programs. MAPSS is very well known so I don't think you should feel it lacks prestige. What do you like better about the course at Yale? I think I would old on a little longer to see if the funding situation at Yale might change but if it doesn't I would take the Chicago offer and run with it. 

(It seems Yale funds only a couple students in the program each year, but a couple people have posted on the results page that they had been offered full funding and planned to decline so there is a CHANCE this funding may be passed down. But I don't think you can count on it).

If you just emailed them about this I don't think I would email again so soon. I'd wait a couple more weeks when people may have declined their offers.

Personally I would not pass up a funded offer at Chicago or another school to try again next year. What if you end up with no funded offers next year? Of course you want to be happy in your program but can you only be happy at Yale?

2 hours ago, fencergirl said: