How reputable is Gordon-Conwell?

rollingwolf

I am currently a student at Gordon-Conwell and I have learned a ton in my semester and a half there so far. My concern is I do not hear a lot about the school. They have great professors and a great set up, but why is not talked about more? Ive been considering transferring to Duke and would like to hear your thoughts. When applying to Jobs later on, I do not want to be hindered!

A couple quick thoughts... 

Reputation is constructed differently by different communities. Are you thinking of reputation in evangelical contexts, or in the academic study of religion? As far as "jobs" are you thinking as a member of the clergy, or as a professor? If as a professor, do you want to be at an evangelical seminary or would you rather target state schools and liberal arts colleges? 

If your goal is to be a pastor or prof in the evangelical world, Gordon-Conwell is probably a fine fit. If your goal is to be a professor at State U, you may want to re-consider. That said, I'm pretty sure there are a few people on this forum who have successfully gotten into quality PhD programs from evangelicalish institutions. Their comments may be of more value than mine. 

5 hours ago, religiousphilosophy said:

I would also like to hear some thoughts about this. In terms of trying to turn an MDiv into a pre-PhD degree, how would GConwell compare to, say, Yale Divinity School?

My thought is that Yale Divinity would be more prestigious as a pre-PhD degree. Don't let that deter you from Gordon Conwell, though. If you're an evangelical, it may be worthwhile to get your first theological degree at a school like Gordon Conwell before maybe getting a second master's somewhere else. Also, people have graduated from GConwell and gone on to teach at prestigious schools. Michal Beth Dinkler at Yale Divinity is one prof who went to Gordon Conwell before getting her ThD at Harvard.