Vanderbilt University Fall 2016

taha89

I'm probably going to Vandy this fall. I'm an international student and was accepted in the IGP program.  Anyone else going to Vandy this year, I want to know about housing and life in Nashville. Does the stipend allow for comfortable living? 

Don't wanna hijack the thread, but I will bump it to say that I'm going to Vandy's IGP program this summer/fall too!

I visited Nashville for my interview, but only got a small feel for it. From what I saw, there's a lot of apartment complexes both close and a bit farther out from Vandy, as well as house shares etc in many different parts of the city. The grad students all said the stipend was fairly comfortable to live on, and looking at rent prices that seems to be pretty true!

@Effloresce I checked on craigslist and prices seem high (most one bedroom > 1k). Do you think I should wait until I arrive at Nashville to get better deals? 

Edited by taha89
add more details

On 4/2/2016 at 3:15 PM, taha89 said:

@Effloresce I checked on craigslist and prices seem high (most one bedroom > 1k). Do you think I should wait until I arrive at Nashville to get better deals? 

i'm not sure you'll get any better deals especially if you're looking to live close to campus. most of the grad students said somewhere around 1k is the average for a one bedroom apartment. personally, i'm looking into having roommates to cut rent costs.

On 3/30/2016 at 9:38 PM, Effloresce said:

Don't wanna hijack the thread, but I will bump it to say that I'm going to Vandy's IGP program this summer/fall too!

I visited Nashville for my interview, but only got a small feel for it. From what I saw, there's a lot of apartment complexes both close and a bit farther out from Vandy, as well as house shares etc in many different parts of the city. The grad students all said the stipend was fairly comfortable to live on, and looking at rent prices that seems to be pretty true!

13 hours ago, Effloresce said: