MTS, MDiv, ThM Help!

hardy1123

Hello,

I'm writing in hopes of getting some advice regarding MTS and Mdiv programs in the US. I finished my bachelors at Brown in an unrelated field (studio art) in May of 2015 but became interested in pursuing an MTS or Mdiv after taking some coursework in theology and medieval philosophy. I am particularly interested in what I have heard called 'philosophical theology', although this designation seems a little loose; I just use it here to refer to the work of people like Plantinga, McCord Adams, MacKinnon, Alston, and Wolterstorff who borrow heavily from philosophy and don't seem too caught up with orthodoxy (maybe it's just a branch of apologetics, I'm not sure). Anyway, in pursuing this interest I found myself becoming interested in the Ministry or chaplaincy work and am now hoping to find a way to move forward with both interests simultaneously. I've been considering an MTS as this seems to be somewhere in the middle in terms of keeping open both possibilities as well as being the most well suited to someone coming from a different field (read: not knowing anything). But, I was hoping to get some advice on this... so, I have four questions. 

1. For anyone who is either working towards or has completed an MTS, Mdiv, or (the mysterious) ThM: How is theology approached in these programs? For someone interested in philosophy would an advanced degree in kind maybe be a better bet? Is there wiggle room in these programs for people interested in philosophy? 

2. I've been having trouble finding MTS programs other than the one at HDS, does anyone have any others they could recommend checking out?

3. Is there any coursework that might be beneficial to try before applying?

4. What's up with things like Doctor of Divinity and all those weird ones from Catholic Pontifical Universities?

Thanks for your time!

Edited by hardy1123