Laptops

clinpsy001

Hi everyone, 

I'm starting graduate school in the Fall and currently on the market for a new, reliable laptop. Unfortunately, I know nothing about laptops/technology (I've been using a MacBook since 2009 for leisure and work laptops for data analysis and paper/poster presentation) and would really appreciate some advice! Here's some qualifications:

1) Inexpensive, because come on. I'm going to be a grad student. 

2) Lightweight. I really hate using heavy laptops and would love to have a lightweight laptop that can be easily transported. 

3) Battery life. I'm currently in an LDR and would like to be able to work on the plane. My current (work) laptop dies within an hour, so ~5-7 hours of battery life would be ideal. 

4) DVD drive. I'm planning on coding interviews that are stored on DVDs, so this is a necessity. I am interested in various Chromebooks, but realize they (and many new/thin laptops) come without these. How is buying external DVD drives for use in laptops like this?

5) It needs a decent processor because I will be using SPSS, R, and Mplus. 

I really appreciate anyone's help on this!!! 

Most laptops that are lightweight and have long battery life will not come with a DVD drive. External DVD drives which are connected through the USB port is pretty common these days and easy to do. 

Everything else is really about preferences. I dislike the keyboard layout and feel of certain brands of laptops for example, so I don't have one of those. I suppose if you have the money, you could get a Surface or something similar.