Worried whether my accent will cause problems at grad school..

Hi everyone,

I am not entirely sure whether this section is the most appropriate for sharing my issue, please move it, if it is not and accept my apologies. I will be attending Yale next year for a MA course in the field of social sciences and I cannot stop worrying about my accent. I come from a country in Southeast Europe (the Balkans) and I did my BA in English in Western Europe. Before I did my BA, I had never practiced my English apart from the times when I had English language classes at school.

When I started my BA, I immediately noticed that people have difficulty understanding what I say exactly. It does not necessarily mean that what I say is linguistically wrong, but it is the way I say it I guess. I studied in one of the top universities in Europe and all my written papers were graded very high. The problem comes when I open my mouth and try to speak to people in English, they start struggling to understand what I am saying and I can see it very well from their (probably unconscious) facial expressions of a person, who cannot assimilate what is being said to him. As you can imagine, this is very inconvenient. It has made me ultra shy and I have been avoiding to take part in discussions in class unless it is absolutely necessary. Moreover, it creates all kinds of difficulties for a productive academic discussion. For instance, the longer and more convoluted my sentence is, the less people can follow my thought.