Are there any older students who want to connect?

MrsGrad

Hey there! I was wondering if there are members who would like to talk about the experience of being an older graduate student. 

I earned by BA in History in 1995 and spent the next 20 years working as an IT Manager. It's been a good career, but no longer offers the same challenges and interest for me, so I decided to craft a new second career for myself. I completed my Master's degree this spring as well as a graduate certificate in Contemporary Gerontological Practice. As an undergraduate I went to school full-time as well as working a full-time job and graduated with a 4.0 GPA. This time around I not only took classes and worked full-time, I also have a family and all of the obligations that go along with that and still graduated with a 4.0. I was lucky to have some really terrific advisors who encouraged me to keep going, so I start my doctorate in Health Education this fall. 

As an older student I find myself in a very strange place both in and out of the classroom. My friends (and especially my husband's friends who are older than me) find it very strange that I would want to go back to school and create a new career at this point in my life. I'm "only" 48 so I have a lot of years ahead of myself that will involve work, and the thought of spending all of that time in IT makes me want to cry.

I work for a manufacturing company and my co-workers have no interest in what I'm doing - not that they're hostile, they just don't care - so it's this whole thing that consumes my life but that I never speak of to people I spend 40+ hours a week with.