New hobbies?

mastermind1886

I'm not sure how many of you are in a similar position, but here it goes anyway. I graduated from college a few years ago, spent some time in full time employment, and am now employed part time to devote more time to applications. Very part time. I work in education, and with schools off for break and whatnot, my time spent doing things of import is... limited.

So, I'm not sure how many of you are left with a wealth of free time that's driving you bonkers, or some free time that's driving you bonkers, but what kinds of hobbies or activities are you undertaking or beginning to keep busy and engaged?

For me:

1) I was accepted to present at a conference in late March, so I have to whittle down a paper into a presentation as well as do some additional research so I don't look like a moron.

2) I started constructing a Revell model of a submarine... I need paint thinner.

3) I bought some photo albums to FINALLY organize my mounds of old photos from years past.

4) I have been reading and watching movies more - currently reading Watergate in American Memory (Schudson) and Diamond Age (Stephenson). And going to be watching the LOTR trilogy.

5) Going to random minor league sporting events (cheap and entertaining!).

6) Learning classic rock songs on my ukulele. Cross Stairway off my list; beginning some new ones soon.

How about you folks? Anyone learning a new language or building a scale model of the Taj Mahal out of pretzel sticks?

I'm still a bit frustrated about my missing LOR, but my hobbies normally include the following:

1) Playing badminton (no...not that backyard stuff)

2) Computer graphics: animation, modeling, crowd simulation, particle simulation, shader development

3) Topcoder (programming competition)

4) Playing video games

5) I'm really into self help stuff now (books, audio, video)

6) Apply for a job (only applying for one job actually and I'm sure they'll understand if I tell them I'm going to grad school)