Professor will pay my visit!

erenada

Hi everyone.

I'm an international student and I'm going to apply to University of Rhode Island. I did a skype interview with my potential advisor and - I think- she is quite positive about taking me as a graduate student. Also she invited me to see her lab and meet other faculty. Above all she will pay my plane ticket and my stay there for 4 or 5 days.

(I have a master degree in biology and I have quite good records -papers, research experience etc.)

What you all think about this situation? 

I'm not sure I understand your question.

Are you asking if this is safe? Well, if it's done through the appropriate channels, yes, it's safe.

Are you asking if this is normal? Well, you word it as if the professor will pay for your ticket out-of-pocket. This is possible one of two things: a campus visit or, effectively, a professor paying from her research funds to pay for your expenses. I am skeptical about the second option, but I am not in your field so consult with a colleague. A campus visit with expenses covered is very common in the US. There are several types of visits but we can boil them down to three: some are for getting to know you (you've applied but you don't have an offer yet), interviews (similar to the previous one, only that official admission interviews are held), and recruitment (you have the offer and now they want you to say yes).

Are you asking if the professor is making an exception because you are international? Doesn't seem like it. Because you have "good records"? Nope, no one pays anybody a plane ticket just because. Sorry.

Are you asking what to do? There's nothing to do. You haven't even applied yet!

I think I covered all the possibilities. If I haven't, please elaborate so we can help you better.

You are right. I think I was not clear about my question.