Leaving PhD After First Semester

shm2016

Hello, I'm hoping to get some advice about leaving my PhD after the first semester.

A bit of background, I'm currently doing my PhD in public policy at a well ranked university where I have full funding via RA/TA work for 4+ years. This has been something I've said I wanted to do for years. After I completed my MA, I spent 5 years working in the field with low-income individuals to get first-hand experience about the system they need to navigate. My plan was to use that experience to shape my PhD studies in policy to help make that system better. Well, now that I'm here, I've been confronted with the fact that along the way I changed through my work with clients. I have been miserable since the program began, I don't actually want to be in academia, and doing high level research that is disconnected from the individuals whose lives it impacts makes me sad. I have no passion for my classes, excluding the social work elective I’m taking, no excitement for my RA work which should have been exactly what I wanted. It is doing research that is going to be used by a department of human services, but it all feels so completely impersonal to me.

I have no desire to stick it out and see if I can make the program work for my goals. I am still interested in doing program evaluation and legislative advocacy to improve the lives of the poor, but do not feel the PhD is needed for me to do those tasks. I realize I need a client centered, bottom up approach as opposed to the top down approach the PhD leads to. I am hoping to apply instead for an MSW program with an administrative/policy concentration, as I believe this will help me further on my career path as opposed to the pure research focus of the PhD.