Low PhD Completion Rate Worry Anyone?

bachelorette

I have been aiming to apply for a PhD program for a few years now and am sending off quite a few applications for Fall 2017. Only now have I come across the dismal PhD completion stats nationwide, hovering around 55-56%.

Has this worried anyone else? Has anyone dropped out of a PhD program that could comment? Are the programs just that difficult and taxing? I understand some of these numbers will be due to not qualifying, possibly funding, etc, but with barely half completing, it would be hard to say that that's not at least a little worrisome.

Any comments?

I don't think the rates are nearly as high in linguistics. This is something that you should figure out specifically for the programs that you're applying to. At least for the programs I have any knowledge of, the vast majority fund all their PhD students for the duration of the program, and people who drop out do so for reasons of incompatibility. Some might be asked to leave, some just decide it's not for them, and I don't think that's necessarily a bad thing. If you decide something isn't for you or you are told by your supervisors that you aren't doing work that would allow you to find employment, there is no reason to stay an extra few years and complete the degree, you're better off finding something else to do. These situations aren't many, though they exist, but it's not close to half the students anywhere I have know of, and again, I don't know that it's necessarily all bad. A much more pressing question is: at the schools you are considering, are people graduating at a decent rate and are they finding jobs? and while they are at the program, are they happy? 

This is a national statistic that lumps a lot of fields together into one number and also a lot of different types of schools together. When all this information is lumped together, it's hard to really know whether this is a "good" number or not.