Master's (PhD?) of Statistics Profile Eval. (History Major Undergrad)

Undergrad Institution: Large state school.
Major: History
GPA: 3.85

Non-degree Graduate Student: Mid-size state school with good (top 40) math program.
GPA: 4.0
Type of Student: Domestic White Male

Courses/ Background: I took Calc BC in high school, and didn't return to math until after undergrad. I'm self-taught in Calc 3 from free, online sources, e.g. MIT OCW's course. I got my BA about 5 years ago, but I recently went back to school as a non-degree grad student and took the following courses, receiving all A's:

Applied Linear Algebra, Intro to Probability, Analysis I, Computer Algorithms I, Statistical Theory, Computational Statistics, Independent Study with math prof. on elliptic curves.

Competent in R and Java.

GRE: 164 Q, 167 V, 4 W

History Awards / Recognition: Honors in the history major in undergrad, grant to do thesis research, award for thesis writing. Not sure if these help at all, since all history related.

Letters of Recommendation (all from non-degree grad):
  • Professor in Mathematical Computer Science.
  • Two Associate Professors in Statistics, regularly frequented office hours.

Programs I'm Considering: 

Can I hope to be competitive for these master's programs? Would I have a chance at the PhD anywhere?

As an aside, is CMU's MSP program too professional-oriented to be helpful if I chose to apply to PhD programs down the line?

If these aren't realistic for me, any recommendations for alternate programs would be much appreciate. Thanks!

As a CMU undergrad majoring statistics, my understanding from a talk with my advisor is that CMU's statistics graduate program is extremely prone to admitting student with relatively little background in statistics, but rather has done a lot in other field and/or is willing to work in the intersections of his previous area and statistics. Hence I'm pretty positive that you have a shot at MSP.