Should I even bother applying to grad schools at this point?

Nico Corr

I am a non-traditional student who just graduated. I decided about 2 years ago that I wanted to go to graduate school to study international relations and conflict resolution, and started researching different grad programs that would suit my interests and that I would have realistic chances of getting into. I narrowed it down to about five schools, and went to as many webinars and open houses as I could in between working full time and going to school full time. I originally had planned to apply to attend classes in the Fall of 2017, but with a promotion at work, and a thesis paper I had to complete on top of  my course work, I haven't found any time to take the GRE. Application deadlines for most of the schools I wish to apply to are in the beginning of January, and I know I need to allow enough time for these scores to get in by the deadline. I also haven't had any time to study for the exam and fear a month's time isn't enough as I am hearing people say you  need at least a good three months to prepare. I'm also worried the professors I want to get LORs from won't have enough time to get them in. Should I just hold off until next year to apply?

Since you haven't studied for or taken the GRE and you would be giving letter writers less than a month's notice it would be a stretch to apply this season.  Different fields/programs use GRE scores differently, but you still want to perform as well as you can.  If you apply next season you have the next 6-9 months to take the GRE, stay in touch with your letter writers, and do whatever else (research, volunteering, not sure what is specific to your field) you should be doing to stay connected to your field and boost your CV.  Applying next year when you will be more prepared and not working at the last minute (or asking others to) doesn't seem like the end of the world.

41 minutes ago, MarineBluePsy said: