Career change into Psychology at 25yo: How to get into Grad school?

Shinja

Hello everyone,

I live in the United states and received a Biology degree at a top 50 undergrad institution. I graduated with a GPA of high 3.4-3.5: Not enough to disqualify me I think, but not enough to make me stand out. I did take two courses in Cognitive Science and received As in both of them. I got As in my writing and essay related courses as well.

Now I have around three years of work experience as a business analyst in healthcare (mostly reporting and project management, and I plan to get involved in work that will help me learn/apply statistical programming), but I've realized that getting a PhD in Clinical Psychology is what I've wanted all along. Without getting a graduate degree it will be nearly impossible for me to make a case that I can withstand the academic rigor, but now I need to figure out how to get into a graduate program. 

At this point I think the best way to improve my chances of getting into a top grad school is to get a job as a research assistant in a Psychology lab.  I am leaning towards this option instead of going for a post-bacc since it is more likely to provide a valuable letter of recommendation and save me money, but I don't have any definitive proof (and I would love to do it, regardless).  Now the question is, what's the best way to apply for a research assistant position and convince them I can do the job?  I have experience from my undergrad working at a lab- and I know I can get a solid recommendation from my current place of employment regarding my work ethic and initiative- but how do I show that I know the material? I want to start applying by the end of the summer to winter and build a solid resume by then. As of now, I'm floundering in a couple of options:

• Do I get Statistics/Data Science/Psychology & Neuroscience certificates from Coursera/edx?  Is that enough?