Which Neighborhoods are safer: Stevens Institute of Technology or Rutgers University Busch / New Brunswick Campus

I got accepted to the industrial engineering M.S. programs at both Stevens Institute of Technology (SIT) and Rutgers University (RU), New Brunswick and I am looking to move to be near one of these school. (I assume that most classes at RU would take place at the Busch Campus in Piscataway.)  I want to stay off-campus in a surrounding neighborhood, hopefully within 3 miles of campus.  If I have to go by neighborhoods alone, which universities would offer better personal and home safety?

I am not looking for the cheapest suggestion, as I am willing to pay a bit more for the comfort of safety, or the perceived better safety...  I am always vigilant anyway.  I will have a car, too.  Not sure if house/car break & enter is more prominent some of these neighborhoods over the others?

I have been working on the Busch campus for close to 14 years now, and several of my colleagues live close to campus -

The area around the Busch campus is fairly safe, not all that much happens in Piscataway. Downtown New Brunswick and the area around the College Ave campus can get pretty dicey at times.

On 9 March 2017 at 1:34 PM, avflinsch said:

I have been working on the Busch campus for close to 14 years now, and several of my colleagues live close to campus -

The area around the Busch campus is fairly safe, not all that much happens in Piscataway. Downtown New Brunswick and the area around the College Ave campus can get pretty dicey at times.

Though to clarify - the area around College Ave campus is almost 100% fine during the day time; but I'd advise against walking around by yourself after 11pm. However, I figure this is true of most urban areas (especially with a large student population). 

The Piscataway/Highland Park areas are safe. That's where most of the grad students live in any case. 

• 3 weeks later...