Are you applying to a grad program outside of your discipline?

coffeeandtoast

(Yes, I hate this wait, I'm just starting random topics! :) )

I have a BS in engineering and I'm applying to sociology and theology programs (I have a masters in theology), which I believe is giving my adcoms good reasons to laugh :lol: I really believe that the fact that I'm going so far from my discipline will ultimately hurt my chances to be admitted.

Am I the only crazy one?

(Yes, I hate this wait, I'm just starting random topics! :) )

I have a BS in engineering and I'm applying to sociology and theology programs (I have a masters in theology), which I believe is giving my adcoms good reasons to laugh :lol: I really believe that the fact that I'm going so far from my discipline will ultimately hurt my chances to be admitted.

Am I the only crazy one?

relax. your weakness is your strength.

You're not the only one; lots of people in various threads have mentioned switching fields, though engineering -> theology -> sociology is definitely one of the more interesting paths I've heard of. That's got to be worth something, right? I have a BA in communication and an MBA, and I applied to nine sociology programs and one communication program. Sometimes you have to try different things to figure out what you really like.

I have a background in psychology but applied to several neuroscience programs. I got interviews at all 3 programs I applied to, and 2 interviews from Psychology programs so far (out of 11 I applied to). I don't have a ton of bio coursework but have worked in neuroimaging for 2+ years. Applying to neuroscience programs was a last minute idea and now I'm totally wishing I applied to more!

Ok, I'm glad I'm not the only one ;) I knew there were a few of us out there.