Accepted into Prestigious Program. Need help showing that I belong

Alana AA R

Question

Hi! I was accepted into a prestigious education program which admits 70-75 every year. I am currently an undergrad at a really laid-back and casual school in Northern California and I am not someone who has a lot of extra money to spend on material things. That being said, I do want to fit in with my new classmates and I want to show them that while I may be young (I was told that I am one of the younger students who was accepted) I belong as much as they do. My main question is whether or not I need to invest on newer, more adult-like clothing for class? I know that while I do my student teaching I will need to look like a professional, but do I also have to look that way in class? I know that this may seem dumb to some people, but I really want to prove to both my classmates and professors that I belong in the program and I am worthy of their time both grade-wise and appearance-wise. 

Thanks!

7 answers to this question

You don't need to prove anything to your fellow students. And professors probably care more about your learning and your teaching than your clothes.

That being said, if you're going to get nice clothes for student teaching, you might as well wear those to class, too. If you can't afford them for each day, then just go casual. 

Also, I think this is the wrong forum for this question, so this thread may be deleted soon.

Edited by 2017 Applicant
where->wear

14 hours ago, Alana AA R said: