Do international applicants get notices later?

deckard

Hi,

I'm an "international" applicant. So far I've received a rejection email from Wisconsin-Madison. The date of the email (5 Feb) came a few days after acceptances were announced, which seem to have been around 3 Feb (correct me if I'm wrong, lucky W-M applicants!)

Is it generally true that rejection emails get sent after the first round of acceptances? This means no news is bad news if everyone else seems to be celebrating their acceptances....

Also, have any international students here been accepted into your choices, and do you know if your email/phone call came at the same time as the US-based applicants or later?

Thanks!

I hope so! ...Mmost of the people who reported their admits on the result page are American. Only one UCLA admit is Intnl. None of the Stanford admits is Intnl.

I am an intnl student ....but currently in the masters program here in the States. Oh my god........this waiting is driving me crazy.

I am an International Student and got accepted into Wisconsin via e-mail on the 26th January, along with most of the other acceptances as far as I can tell from the results page (domestic and international). I sincerely hope that Stanford and Columbia have not informed Internationals yet, but no idea whether that is just wishful thinking or actually true. Any feedback on that would be greatly appreciated... and yes, the waiting is slowly but steadily driving me insane too...

I applied to Columbia and Stanford as well, and no news here. The rash of Stanford acceptances last week was quite worrying. I guess this week will be D-day for us international applicants.

I don't know why international students might be contacted later than others though. Email gets rid of the time difference....unless the schools prefer to contact us via snail mail.