Dealing with Self-Doubt

Hi,

This is my first time on Grad Cafe but am looking for some support and perspective.

I didn't do too well my first year in my PhD program but I knew going into the program that for some personal reasons I wouldn't be able to do well. I passed my comprehensive exams, maintained the gpa requirements, and am on track with everything. I haven't really started research due to the program set-up but the little research I have done has been well received by faculty who have seen it.

I know it's not rational, but despite all of this, I can't seem to get rid of the self-doubt. My peers don't think particularly well of me because of my poor first year performance, even though I often did better than several of them on some exams. The problem is probably that I'm not confident enough so I sell myself short to them. I don't have much confidence now so even when I try to talk to faculty with questions, I get nervous and don't make a very good impression, even though I really do know more than it may appear.

To make matters worse, the DGS in my program had a pre-meditated public humiliation planned for me in front of faculty and students. I asked him a question regarding some procedures going forward before a seminar one day, which he answered in a professional manner. Then after the seminar, he re-instigated the conversation, walked me up to the front of the room so everyone could see, and started mocking me because he thinks I'm an idiot.