MIA and MBA - How to go about it

kobeee

Yo everyone - hope you're all well,

So I'm looking into getting a dual MIA-MBA degree. I basically want to get involved in international business strategy - Evaluating foreign markets, expansion, best approaches, etc. And I'm thinking that a dual MIA-MBA would be perfect. Despite the massive debt, I'd be a unique candidate - the MBA would give me solid business acumen while the MIA would help me hone my language skills and solidify my theoretical knowledge of the world economy. Now I've only got a couple years of work experience, which is a little on the low side for bschool , but given the 3 year timeline I feel like I should go for it sooner than later. I've looked at a bunch of MBA programs and I've been looking at a lot of the top MIA programs (Gtown, SAIS, HKS, Princeton, SIPA, etc.). 

Anyway, there is some flexibility in my plan and I'm basically wondering the following:

Should I apply to both MBA and MIA programs (At Colombia, Gtown, SAIS/Tuck, Texas, etc) now or,

Should I apply to MIA now (less competitive admissions process), then when I'm one year in, apply to the bschool. Anyone know if this has worked for people? Would you have a better shot of getting in given that you're already enrolled at the university? 

I like the idea of breaking up the application process, plus even if I didn't get in to the MBA program, it would always be an option to do the two-year MIA and then a one-year MBA afterwards too. 

I'm also happy to hear any thoughts/insights on my plan,the MIA in general,  the MBA,or the schools I mentioned. 

Thanks!

I'm doing dual MBA/MPP at HKS and one of H/S/W.

Do you have good work experience? MBA admissions is much more difficult and if you don't have the WE they are looking for, you have no chance. It's not about the number of years but more the type of work you did.