What are my chances of getting into a history PhD program?

m7orbust

Hello All,

I am a recent college graduate from a medium sized catholic college in New York. My stats are:

3.32 Overall gpa (3.82 junior and senior year)
Senior thesis utilized primary sources detailing student and youth movements during Apartheid
language abilities non-existent
I didn't take any honors or 400 level courses in college because law school was my assumed path.
I will be spending the next two or three years as a TFA corps member.
African American male

My interests are in Central/West African history. I am curious to hear where (if anywhere) people think I would have a chance to pursue my research. I am also very receptive to advice and criticism, as I have two to three years to put any advice into action. I am thinking of learning another language and reading deeply into a certain research interest, but I'd like to hear others opinions.

Do an M.A. Learn French (at the very least, possibly one or more African languages as well, though that depends on what exactly you're doing, possibly Portuguese, Dutch/Afrikaans, German, etc depending on exactly what countries you want to work on. This could be instead of French, but working on West Africa without French seems unlikely to be feasible). Your background at the moment is unlikely to get you into a PhD program good enough to get you a job post-grad school, but assuming you can afford it/find funding, an M.A. program should be doable and give you the chance to be a strong candidate.

If you're entering TFA, you will likely have very little free time to prepare for graduate school, and you might find your plans for the future evolving alongside your corps experience. In all likelihood, the most you'll be able to manage while working 60+ hours a week is to study for and take the GREs.