Joint MA in higher education and MBA

2013grad

Hi everyone. I'm curious if anyone has feedback on joint MA in higher education and MBA programs. I'm interested in working in higher education administration one day, and it seems like the management and leadership courses in an MBA could be a strong compliment to a higher education masters. In addition (and I know some may disagree), I think the MBA could be a unique and marketable degree.

About me: I currently work in education policy, and I'm considering one day working at the campus-level in administration. I'm more interested in the administration side (strategic planning, work with the President's office, government relations) than student affairs. I'm considering a masters in higher ed, but I'm intrigued by the joint program. 

Both Stanford and Michigan have MA/MBA programs. (Stanford is a joint degree; Michigan is a dual degree.)

Any thoughts?

Thanks! 

• 2 weeks later...
8 hours ago, Amol888 said:

According to me MBA is best option for your future, because in MBA you can explore yourself in any field related your work. 

Thanks for the feedback! Do you mind explaining more? I'm curious why the MBA may be a better option than a program tailored to higher education management and leadership. 

I think it depends on what you're hoping to do with the degree. I've seen some people that are pretty high up in edtech companies with the Stanford degrees. If you're more interested in higher ed administration or working in the public, a masters or doctorate might be more financially reasonable. The MBA is going be pretty expensive, so you're going to want to go into a space where you can pay back the loans.