Applying for Fall 2018!

TheLeoLinguist

Hi! I'm a linguistics student, planning on applying to the M.A. linguistics program at CSULB. In the future, I'd love to get my doctorate from UC Berkeley, but since my undergraduate school offers little research opportunities for undergraduate students I think an M.A. would be a good stepping stone. I *know* I would succeed in a Ph.D program, I just have to work on proving it!

School: IUPUI (My degree is from Indiana University)

Majors: Linguistics & Creative Writing

Minor: Literature

Cum. GPA: 3.7

Linguistics GPA: 3.9

GRE: Though I've been studying for the GRE, CSULB doesn't ask you to take it

Conference Presentations: 4

Other Stuff: Liberal Arts Ambassador, Service Scholar, Dean's List, Portfolio for the Literary Arts Scholarship

Experience: Writing consultant (conducted staff meetings and conference presentations on language diversity/preservation) & Editorial intern at Indianapolis Monthly

I was thinking the other day about starting one of these threads, but I got busy with pre-flight for the GRE (took it yesterday) and in the meantime you beat me to it.  Cheers!

I'm basically going the MA route in this cycle as well, but not sure if I would try to go on to the PhD later, or not.  I'm zeroing in on computational linguistics, and the idea I had was to find a linguistics MA program that would help me fill in both my linguistics gaps and my computer science gaps before trying (in the next round) for a program like the University of Washington's CL master's.  The goal there would be to end up working in industry somehow.

That being said, I always wanted to finish a PhD--I got all the way to the ABD level in cultural anthropology during a previous life--so if there was a way to still finish a PhD (albeit a different one) en passant, that would be awesome.