Qualitative and Quantitative Jack of All Trades ???

When I completed my MSc in health research methods there was lack of content in qualitative methods/research. 

I suppose you don't know what you don't know. When I began to appraise the things I don't know, I realized that I had to return to school to develop my capacity in qualitative methods.

Now I don't want to be unrealistic about what it takes to achieve this. I'm now planning on taking an advanced qualitative methods course, followed by an advanced quantitative course. I have to dive into the advanced stuff if I want to have room for other electives. I suppose that's the challenge - you don't want to be a jack of all trades (methods) by expanding the breadth of what you can do, you want depth, to gain expertise too. I don't have a PhD topic yet but I think it will be easier to define a topic with more methodological tools and techniques at my disposal. 

On the other hand, a part of me thinks that I should stay in my lane. All I need is one quantitative methods course (not even an advanced one, which I could confidently do).

Has anyone else taken both quantitative and qualitative courses before knowing your topic? My supervisor was saying that most students get tripped up by the methods courses so it may be risky. 

Apologies for long post ...

Edited by GlobalInformatician

In my subfield, it's pretty common to have both qualitative and quantitative methods training, with advanced coursework in one of the two areas depending on the tools and skills needed for one's own research project. I don't know enough about your field or interests to say if the same would hold true for you. At least in my area, the question of qualitative vs quantitative is more about the approach and scale one takes, rather than the specific topic. Which is to say that my project could've been slanted more in either direction and would've worked without having to change the topic.