GRE and Clinical Psych (Canada) - should I retake?

Neurophilic

Hi everyone,

I took the GRE yesterday and I have horrible test anxiety. Normally I use water to mitigate my symptoms, however as most of us know, this isn’t allowed in the testing centres.. long story short I did HORRIBLE on the GRE with 150V and 156Q (AWA TBA). Anyway, I am wondering what are my chances of admission to a Canadian Clinical Psychology program? 

I have a BSc in Neuroscience and Mental Health as well as Psychology and my GPA is 3.9, I have over two years experience in a clinical research position at a hospital, research experience with the government, executive position at a university society, volunteer experience at a mental health hospital, conference poster presentation, two TAships etc.. and according to my professors, I will have amazing letters of recommendations.

Now I know the GRE is not everything to the application, but I would hate if it weakened it. I plan on applying to the following:

York U (Neuropsych)

McGill

U of Toronto 

Western

Thanks for the help!! :)

Edited by CanadianNeuron

Do you think you could do better if you took it again? I was really anxious the first time that I took it, but improved quite a bit the second time just because I knew what to expect, etc. If you think you could improve your score, I would recommend rewriting. 

You're an otherwise strong applicant, but those are some of the most competitive schools in Canada, and it's hard to say how it would affect your chances. I've always heard that a general rule of thumb is to score above the ~60th percentile, but that's purely anecdotal and I'm sure it varies from program to program. Clinical admissions are impossible to predict and it's possible that a great research fit and strong application could offset your GRE. 

You should also check to see if the GRE is optional at McGill since it's in Quebec.