Soliciting advise: How can I make a decision?

poppyos

Hey:

I was hoping to get some help... I am interested in getting my Masters in Art History, and I am not sure if that is the right program for me.  Is it possible for people to comment, to give me some advice? If it works better for you, you can message me through the blog/ forum.  I have my Bachelors in Women's Studies, with minors in Philosophy and Sociology, and I am hoping to start a career as a Curator.  I am not sure what that all entails, but I basically want to work in a Museum and teach people about art, that has some type of political significance, specifically art that pertains to feminism and gender issues.  I not only want to teach people about the art (in a Museum setting), but I also want to understand the art, and its historical context.  It would be a bonus if I can fix or restore the art as well.. Unless that is a separate career.  All useful advice is appreciated.  I am hoping to move to Boston, MA (Boston University), to get the degree - they have Museums out there as well, and New York is out of my price range in terms of the cost of living.  I do not want to move to Philadelphia, since the only good school", that I am aware of out there is University of Philadelphia, and I do not have the GPA or interest in going to an Ivy League school.

Thank you! :D

@poppyos It sounds like you could really benefit from an internship or shadowing experience in a museum. That would give you the ability to see inside the heart of a museum and really see what is the best fit for you. 

Also, to stick up for Philadelphia: 

• Moore College of Art & Design
  • Tyler School of Art (Temple)
  • Westphal College of Media Arts & Design (Drexel University)
  • Philadelphia Academy of the Fine Arts
  • The University of the Arts