CathBolognese

Hej!

I'm an Australian student looking to study in the US, specifically around NYC (where my gf currently lives). I have an undergrad in philosophy at USYD and a Masters by Research in English at the University of New South Wales. My project was on the relationship between Hegel and Kierkegaard's respective modes of representation and the "ancient quarrel between philosophy and poetry." It centred on questions of the exception and repetition, taking 1843's Gjentagelse as its primary focus.

Along the road I've picked up a lot of interests and areas of study. I've written conference papers on Badiou, Media, Hegel, Benjamin. I've also worked on psychoanalysis, Marxism, communist history and deconstruction. Broadly speaking, my overall project is concerned with the construction of universals across the gulf of difference, and the way that language/analysis might accommodate this. 

Because of this pick-and-mix I've been looking at places like the New School, but won't be able to support myself without funding so that seems to cast doubt. I've also heard that people have reservations about UPenn At the moment I'm looking at 

1. Media at Brown with Joan Copjec

2. Philosophy at Columbia with Honneth or maybe Lydia Goehr

3. Philosophy at CUNY, not sure who with

4. English at NYU, not sure who with

5. Religion at Princeton with Eric Gregory

I've done the GRE and got V-170, AW- 5.5 and Q- 149 (lol).

Does anyone have recommendations on other programs that might accommodate a project as confused and baroque as this?

Cheers!

Edited by CathBolognese