Contacting potential supervisor over Facebook Messenger?

AvelineHilda

Hi everyone,

I am applying for an MA in English right now and I could use your advice for a question I have about contacting a potential supervisor.

I am applying to my absolute dream school, and for their application they strongly suggest contacting a potential supervisor within their graduate faculty and name them in the Statement of Intent. I am already acquainted with the potential supervisor I have in mind, who is a tenured professor doing research in the same field I am interested in (post-1945 American lit & print culture). I met this professor at a conference two years ago (I have been a graduate student for some time; English will be my second MA) and we became friends on Facebook after connecting over our research interests. We have not kept in touch, although we will occasionally 'like' each other's research-related posts on Facebook.

Now I am wondering if I should contact this person the traditional way, over e-mail; or send them a Facebook message. Normally I would always opt for e-mail, but because I already know them I thought it might be a good idea to add a personal touch. What do you guys think? Is a message too unprofessional?

Thanks!

Definitely email. Even professors I am very close with I contact them by email when it is in regards to professional matters. It’s good to keep boundaries especially seeing as this is not a professor that you even have an established relationship with.