Post-Baccalaureate Fine Art Painting

IrisR

This is my second round of applying for an MFA in painting. Last round I was offered 3 Post-Baccalaureate. I decided against a Post-Baccalaureate as it would cost me a year and money I rather spend towards an MFA. As a serious artist I will not stop making art because I was not accepted in an MFA program. My portfolio organically will improve and change as time passes.

My questions is how many MFA program have you applied to and who offered you an Post-Baccalaureate? 

Did you decide to take them up on it?

If not why not?

After finishing your Post-Baccalaureate year did that university accept you into their MFA program?

Mica, PAFA, LCAD and Tyler offered me Post-Baccalaureate

• 3 weeks later...

A post-bac is a great option for someone who is not yet ready for grad school, or anyone who could use more work building their portfolio before applying again. It's a compliment to be offered a post-bac, because it means they think you have potential and they want to work with you, but for whatever reason, they were not wanting to admit you. The benefit of a post-bac is that you often get shared studio space, mentorship with grad students, and form relationships with faculty who might continue to be your mentors in the future. Some of these faculty could write really strong letters of recommendation for you that help give you an edge into getting into grad school. Each institution you work with is an opportunity to expand your network. Many of our students (especially in ceramics) have done a post-bac or have been an artist in residence somewhere else before being admitted as a grad student. So there are many benefits.