Low undergrad GPA but high MPH GPA

PublicHealth18

I've been thinking about applying to PhD programs but my undergrad GPA still haunts me. I graduated with a whopping 2.8. I honestly don't have a good excuse other than the fact that I wasn't focused and didn't really figure out what I was truly passionate about until the end of my junior year. Luckily, I was able to get into a respectable MPH program and graduated that with a 3.8 GPA. I worked in health services research as a research coordinator throughout my MPH, and I currently work in health policy research at a top consulting firm. My GREs were decent (158 Q, 152 V) but I could retake those if needed. I have a decent amount of publications under my name as well.

I'm looking into DrPH and PhD programs both...I'm still undecided. I would like to go into Health Policy and some of the schools I have looked at include GW, UMD, and Hopkins (which is probably way out of my reach but worth trying...?). Am I completely unrealistic for thinking I even have a shot due to my low undergrad GPA?

7 minutes ago, PublicHealth18 said:

I've been thinking about applying to PhD programs but my undergrad GPA still haunts me. I graduated with a whopping 2.8. I honestly don't have a good excuse other than the fact that I wasn't focused and didn't really figure out what I was truly passionate about until the end of my junior year. Luckily, I was able to get into a respectable MPH program and graduated that with a 3.8 GPA. I worked in health services research as a research coordinator throughout my MPH, and I currently work in health policy research at a top consulting firm. My GREs were decent (158 Q, 152 V) but I could retake those if needed. I have a decent amount of publications under my name as well.