Inspired by a similar post for folks in comparative lit, I wonder how many early modern/renaissance applicants are currently waiting on responses. I'd love to know where everyone applied and what your focus is. I haven't heard from anyone yet--but got an implied rejection from Emory when interviews went out. My background is primarily in seventeenth century poetry and prose, especially John Donne. As a PhD student, I'm hoping to specialize in early modern medicine and medical rhetoric.

Looking forward to hearing from others! Best of luck to everyone!

Husband is not an early modernist (tbh I don't actually fully understand what time period that refers to), but I wanted to mention that he LOVES John Donne. He actually read a John Donne poem at our wedding (I cried when I first heard the poem so he had to read it at the wedding). I'm pretty sure he wrote an essay on John Donne in his transatlantic renaissance poetry course in college.

Good luck to you!

@punctilious That's awesome! What poem did he read? I first encountered John Donne in an undergraduate course on early modern literature and religion, and that's when my love for the period clicked. It helped, of course, that my professor was hands down one of the best professors I've ever worked with. 

4 minutes ago, JustPoesieAlong said:

@punctilious That's awesome! What poem did he read? I first encountered John Donne in an undergraduate course on early modern literature and religion, and that's when my love for the period clicked. It helped, of course, that my professor was hands down one of the best professors I've ever worked with. 

He read The Good-Morrow. It's so beautiful! Similarly, his professor for the course was outstanding. I don't think he expected to enjoy transatlantic renaissance poetry as much as he did!