UIC Social Work advanced standing program

enatal96

Hey guys, I recently applied to the advanced standing social work program at UIC for the fall of 2018. I’m pretty worried about my chances of getting in and I can’t find much information about other worried people’s admission results. I’m graduating this May from SIUC with my bachelors in social work. I went to a community college for my first 2 years. I have a cum. GPA of 3.0 but I show a lot of improvement in my grades. I went from a semester gpa of 2.0 at community college to a 3.6 at SIU. I’m in a sorority and I have a lot of different volunteer experiences and hours. I submitted 3 LORs. I talked to someone from admissions before I submitted my application and expressed my concern about my chances of getting in because of my GPA. She said that there are around 1,000 applicants and she said they accept somewhere around 200 for the regular 2 year program but since I will have my BSW and id do the advanced standing program, I have a much higher chance of getting in because of the fewer number of applicants with BSWs. Can anyone share their experience of getting accepted or denied into this program? 

• 1 month later...

Hey, I applied to UIC as well and I still haven't heard anything back from admissions, I did get an email saying that my application was in the review process and that I should hear something back by the end of April. I submitted my application on 12/29 and my LC were all submitted by 01/09. Did you hear anything back from admissions?

Hi