Transition into data science/machine learning from non-CS bachelor's degree

physics2ds

I'm interested in pursuing a PhD&career in either data science or machine learning in the future, but don't have an undergrad degree in CS, data science, machine learning, etc. and discovered my interest late so I've only taken 1 intro programming course and I'm assuming they have pretty rigorous pre-reqs

I majored in Physics at Cornell (cum.~3.6, 3.3 in major) and have had a couple years of research experience in multiple settings (working on first publication). I'd be willing to take a masters program in between, but wondered what my best option would be to make the transition given my relatively limited background.

Getting an industry job as a data scientist wouldn't be too difficult given your background honestly. The skillset required is not by any means "rigorous". 

If your looking into graduate school, look into applying into MS Stats programs that have a heavy machine learning focus. MS programs generally don't have any hard pre-requesites. I did a double major in Math & Physics with 0 ML/Stats/CS classes, and it didn't affect my application much. Just be able to clearly demonstrate a purpose and interest in the field when you apply. 

Tons of people I know in all sorts of quantitative science fields, including, physics, astronomy, planetary science, environmental science, etc. have finished their PhD in these fields and gone on to data science positions in North America. Many more make this transfer while a postdoc and I know a couple of people who have tenure-track positions and decided to switch. In addition, a PhD is often not required (as @ErdosJr said) as I know a few people who were hired by data science companies while in the middle of their PhD and decided to leave the program for the job.