What is it like to be a grad student in history?

Pacifist101

Hi everyone,

I am switching to history from a STEM field, and all the decisions I need to make within the next few weeks make me a little anxious. I would love to hear about personal experiences of those who are doing a master's or a PhD in history. I have some experience in the field and a good idea of what grad school is like, but I would really appreciate it if some of you shared insights on what it's like to be a grad student in history.

Are you happy with the decision to attend your program? Any regrets? What is the most fun and the most difficult thing you've had to do? Is there anything you didn't know that you wish you did when you decided to go to grad school? Did you expect to spend more/less time writing/teaching? Or anything else you would like to share with a prospective history grad student.

Obviously, the experiences will be different depending on the person, the program and many other factors, but that's the catch. So even if it's just one thing or a few sentences, anything you have to say is appreciated.

One of the biggest issues/things I needed to learn was how to read. During your undergraduate work, you learn a lot of useful skills that prepare you, in a very broad sense, for graduate school or the workforce. Learning to read is probably the hardest skill I had to learn while in graduate school. You will be given an enormous amount of material to read per week and expected to be actively contributing to the seminar. My reading load per week was roughly a book a week per seminar. On top of the reading, I highly suggest learning another language, polishing a current one, or actively engaging with a current language. Grasping a second or third language will not only help you with your research and reading skills but also you will be able to communicate with an even wider range of material and people.