Grad students, have you ever withdrawn during your undergraduate career?

UWjcw

I am a sophomore CS student and is thinking whether I should withdraw from an online course I am taking and retake it on-campus, since the quality of the online course is terrible.

Edited by UWjcw

Hey @UWjcw,

If the course is truly terribly online, I don't see a reason why you couldn't withdraw. Just be prepared for it to be just as horrible (though maybe in different ways) in person. 

I had 3 Ws on my undergrad transcripts. I could explain away each one, but was never asked for either my MA or PhD apps.

P.S. Just noticed you posted this question in more than one area. That's generally frowned upon here, just as a heads up.

Edited by GreenEyedTrombonist
Added PS

Hum, personally, I have never withdrawn from a course in my undergraduate studies, even if those courses weren't the easiest ones. My GPA did went down a little bit (but still managed to graduate with Distinction at the end of my undergraduate degree), but I still showed up in class and did the work that I needed to do because I still felt like the material was relevant to what I wanted to study in graduate school. So motivation was there.

In the end, it's up to you, it all depends on how much effort you want to put into it and if you feel like this course is relevant to your career plans/goals. Also, I'd say, if you feel like you can adapt on your own is another thing to consider. Like this term, I have a course where the professor does a terrible job in terms of clarity of the course material and of assignments...but I try to rely on my classmates (thankfully, I am not in a competitive field) for support, I look for more info/guidance online and read the textbook and try to develop those strategies on my own because I realized that I can't rely on that professor to make me understand the course material.

Make sure you withdraw before the add/drop period though!