Hi everyone,

I've recently discovered this forum and have been obsessed with it for days, which is good and bad because I learn so many useful things or see reassuring advice, but I also worry about getting to excited and hopeful and having my heart broken by being rejected.

I am an undergraduate senior at the University of Illinois at Chicago. My major is psychology, minor is sociology and I've applied to 5 MSW programs for the fall of 2018. UIC's Jane Addams College of Social Work, Depaul University, Loyola University Chicago, the Institute for Clinical Social Work, and lastly the application that was submitted just yesterday, Hunter College's Silberman School of Social Work. So far, I've been accepted in UIC, ICSW, and still waiting to hear back from LUC, Depaul, and Hunter.

I originally only choose to apply to the four programs in Chicago because I thought moving out of state would be way too expensive and I was kind of scared that I couldn't live out of state on my own. When applying in December-January I briefly contemplated applying to programs in New York because I've always wanted to live there but I quickly gave up on the thought because I told myself it was too expensive to move/no one in my family would support me moving/and I was already struggling with applications fee and transcripts order fees for the few programs here in Chicago. I recently fell in love with Hunter's program and just knew I had to apply, so I scraped together money for the application fee and asked my recommenders if they wouldn't mind sending their letters to just one more school.