Switching PhD Departments

aveceslamaga

Hello all,

I am a first-year PhD student in Comparative Literature at a top 5 Ivy League university. Having taken two graduate course on History -and having done a lot of research on my own- I have become more and more convinced that I would rather do history than comparative literature. However, I am unsure how easy it will be to change PhD programs. Do you know of successful cases of people who have changed from one department to the other in the humanities? Ideally, I would want to remain in the same university as I am now, provided of course that the history department accepts me. Linguistic skills are not a problem, and I also took a couple of history courses as an undergraduate with professors that would be happy to write for me!

Any help would be appreciated!

How strict is your department re the kind of dissertation you can write? I'm in history and have thought seriously this semester about switching to anthro, but after conversations with advisors have realised that I can definitely write the kind of dissertation that I want to write if I stay in the history department--I'll likely have non-historians or very anthro-minded historians on my committee. This is kind of one of the benefits of history though (...although there are some pretty historiany comp lit people right? Marianne Hirsch for one?). What are your advisors saying when you bring this up?

Edited by OHSP