Put off Applications until Completion of Master's?

Le Chat

Looking for some insight or experience from those that are in Psychology Master's programs and planning to apply for Clinical Psychology Ph.D's. I am a non-psychology undergrad, and in a Clinical Psychology M.S. program with undergraduate pre-requisites. My application cycle consideration would be Fall 2019, but I wouldn't finish my Master's program until December 2019. I also came into the program with zero research experience, by the time of applications I would have 4 semester's worth. 

My concerns are #1-Whether it is worth the money and time if I might just be rejected, and #2 whether I should consider finishing the program for a more solid backup plan (I have recurrent chronic illness related health issues). If I graduate in December I would work in Research from January-August (assuming acceptance into a Ph.D program.)

Thoughts?

There is really no right answer for this one. I took time off between my MA and applying to doctoral programs. That gave me time to publish my MA thesis and to work with my intended population, gaining valuable experience and also saving some money. I ended up taking 3 years off total and will start a program this fall. For me, it really helped solidify what exactly I wanted and gave me valuable research ideas (I work in the field of IPV, so I got to see first hand where more research is needed). Plus, I knew that after 3 years, that this was still what I wanted to do. The only thing I would do differently would be to continue actively doing research in that time. 

Plus, having a healthy savings account from a full time job is definitely a plus to supplement your stipend/invest and watch grow.